Untitled Document

Leveraging Catalyst Development and Process Development in Custom Manufacturing for Advanced APIs (Active Pharmaceutical Ingredients) and Intermediates

First Session: October 12, 2017

11:00am EDT, 5:00pm CEST, 11:00pm CST

Repeat Session: October 17, 2017

9:00am CEST, 3:00pm CST, 3:00am EDT

Register Now

 
 

Overview

 

With ever-increasing market requirements for purity and yield, catalytic reactions are of major importance for efficient manufacturing of pharmaceutical intermediates and active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs). This webinar validates the benefits of leveraging best in class catalyst expertise with complex synthesis process development. This leads to more efficient processes as well as improved manufacturing scale-ups for pharmaceutical intermediates and APIs. The presented case study will examine the benefits of Evonik's combined customized catalyst development and manufacturing capabilities.

Presentation 1: "Concepts and tools for the development of heterogeneous catalytic processes" by Dr. Felix Roessler

On average, 10-20% of all chemical steps in the synthesis of APIs and fine chemicals are heterogeneous catalytic hydrogenations. However, due to the high complexity of these reactions a significant part of their potential is often not fully tapped. This presentation shows how to maximize the outcome by addressing multidisciplinarity. The importance of an integrative approach covering organic chemistry, surface catalysis and chemical reaction engineering is discussed. Concepts, tools and guidelines are introduced to support the development of robust, economic, safe and scalable hydrogenation processes.

Presentation 2: "Industrial case study: benefits of combining catalyst and process development for custom manufacturing of APIs" by Dr. David Voigtlaender

Evonik Health Care and Evonik Catalysts provides a unique symbiosis of competencies for the development and manufacturing of pharmaceutical intermediates and active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs). A case study will illustrate the different phases of project execution from inquiry to GMP manufacturing and delivery. It will show the close collaboration required on multidisciplinary levels to maximize value for the customer.

Brought to you by:

 
 

Participants Will Learn:

 

• Understanding the importance of appropriate catalyst selection related to the efficiency of a complex synthesis process

• The systems, processes, and procedures required for successful process development, scale-up and manufacturing

• Gain insight into effective CMO qualification, selection and project execution

• void costly pitfalls and delays in CMO selection

Who Should Attend:

 

• Process development scientists

• Process engineers

• Researchers/ R&D Managers

• Laboratory Managers/ Directors / Supervisors

• Operations managers

• Sourcing managers

• Professionals involved with API / intermediate synthesis

• General/Senior management in the pharmaceutical industry

 

Speakers

 
Dr. Felix Roessler,
Consultant - Catalysis Expert,
Ferowis GmbH
Dr. David Voigtlaender
Director Innovation Management,
Evonik Nutrition & Care GmbH
 

Felix Roessler, Ph.D. was in charge of the heterogeneous catalysis laboratories of Roche and DSM Nutritional Products from 1980-2007. Since 2007, he holds courses on catalytic hydrogenations (www.scientificupdate.com) and is an independent consultant for all aspects of heterogeneous catalytic hydrogenations.

David Voigtlaender is a director of Innovation Management (Process R&D) at Evonik Health Care. He has 15 years of experience in the application of homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysis to the development and manufacturing of API's and AI's. David holds a PhD in organic synthesis from the Max-Planck-Institut fuer Kohlenforschung (Germany) and completed a post-doctoral fellowship at Stanford University, CA.

 

Moderator

 
Stu Borman,
Senior Correspondent,
C&EN
 

Register Now